Cancer victims letter.

Hey bloggers,so sometime ago someone had sent me an e-mail via the “Contact Page” on my blog and they told me about the impact that cancer has had in their life. Now that its close to Christmas it may be particularly harder to those who have lost people in their lives as its a time where we most remember those who have left us. Below I will copy an article this man wrote explaining what his wife has gone through.

My Experience with Cancer during the Holidays

With each year that passes by, I always look forward to the holiday season. For me, the holiday season is all about giving thanks and spending time with my loved ones. One can imagine how excited I was when my wife, Heather, gave birth to our daughter, Lily, in the summer of 2005. We were so excited to have our first and only child, and I was even more excited to be able to celebrate the holiday season with our new baby. We had so many ideas for the holidays and we could not have been any happier. However, our happiness was short-lived. It was just 3 days before we were supposed to be sitting down at the table for our Thanksgiving meal when Heather received her cancer diagnosis.

Our daughter was only 3 months old at the time that Heather was told she had mesothelioma. Our holiday cheer quickly diminished as we began our battle against cancer. There were so many emotions that I was dealing with, but the anger and fear were the strongest. I tried staying optimistic, although it was far easier said than actually done.  I didn’t know much about mesothelioma, but we found out quickly that it was an extremely deadly form of cancer, and that most people would die within 12 months of being diagnosed.  All I could see was the worst case scenario happening, and that Thanksgiving I felt that I had nothing to be thankful for.

Despite the terrible news, we still tried to celebrate with Heather’s family, who flew in to spend Thanksgiving with us. The family also spent Christmas with us and shortly after that, Heather would have to go to Boston to receive treatment for her cancer. I distinctly remember the difficult conversation we had that night with Heather’s family on Thanksgiving. After eating our meal, we sat there and talked about expenses and finances, along with care for our daughter. Heather’s family told us that they would be willing to help us with some of the bills and other expenses, especially since we were trying to survive off of one income alone. Our income was declining but the expenses for treatment and travel continued to expand. During that conversation, all I could feel was sadness and embarrassment that I could not take care of my family alone.  It would be many years before I could look back on that day with greater clarity, and realize how mistaken I had been to look at it that way.

What I did not realize was the fact that we had the support of our family, all of whom were trying to help us in different ways. They were willing to drop everything in their own lives to be with us to help, and offered to make huge sacrifices of their own to ensure our well being.  I was blinded by fear and pride at the time, but now I can see quite clearly how much we truly had to be thankful for that day.

Now that the holiday season is here again, I wanted to give thanks to everyone who supported us through our difficult journey. I am thankful to have great family and friends, a healthy daughter, and the support of so many who reached out a hand to help us. Thanks in large part to their support, we were able to make it through Heather’s mesothelioma surgery, chemotherapy and radiation treatments in the months that followed.  Heather managed to beat the odds and she survived her battle with mesothelioma. We’ve celebrated seven Christmas’s and counting together with our beautiful daughter since the diagnosis, and we hope that our story of triumph over cancer can be a source of inspiration and hope to all those currently battling cancer this holiday season.

 

Remember if anyone has anything they want to talk about in private they are most welcomed to email me. I only posted the above as he asked me if I could do so to spread awareness.

 

Have a nice day x

About Paul

ill rather keep my identy private for now :)

Posted on December 19, 2012, in Charity, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

