Social Labels

So I know I’ve written about stereotypes before in my blog. I think “Social Labels” is a topic I feel strongly about because it deals so much damage to a person’s mind and self-esteem,however we are all to blame for this because one way or another we all contribute into giving others labels. How you ask ? – Not me ! you say.  Most of us do it unknowingly maybe some sort of natural reaction in our minds?.

How many of you walk down town alone with your music on whilst day dreaming ?. Many of you I imagine, but all of a sudden you see this guy with the tightest pair of pants, make-up on and a fur coat . Most of you, in your head will say “Omg,he’s gay” or the erm “not so nice” people would think ” What a Fa**t”,sadly it does happen. How many of you see a person in McDonald’s having a large meal and that person just happens to look over weight. How many of you think to yourself ” She needs a diet” or any nasty comments you may share with friends or keep to yourself without knowing whether or not this person as an underlining health condition that will not allow her to lose weight. I am also guilty of this from time to time but then I complain when I hear others giving people a label. It infuriates me but am I no better ? Do I not have those thoughts ?. Sure I don’t act on them and I will NEVER laugh at someone’s expense but I think those things at times. Is it normal ? At the end of the day we should control our thoughts. Maybe we  label others in order to feel better about ourselves,boost ourself esteem and confidence.

I Am single, so I am labelled as being Single fair enough, does it stop there ? NO! as most people will carry on as to why they THINK I am still single. Well bloggers here is a little secret of my own that I will share with you on why I am single. I love being single, I do not desire being in a relationship. Why force something when my mind and heart are not asking for it ?. I let everything take its course, I dislike it when you hear people who are “looking” and by looking I mean desperately looking for another half. Sure being interested in someone is nothing wrong ,by far! What I mean here is those who jump from relationship to relationship just for the sake of it. I like my “freedom” and my space. Besides if I were to get into a relationship most of my blog posts would be less interesting (assuming you all find this interesting :)).

The worse label at the moment in today’s society is being called “GAY”. Let me just express how much that kills me inside that in the year we are in people are still being bullied over their sexual orientation . Something that is beyond their control and at the end of the day its a part of who they are. How many teens commit suicide because they can no longer handle the pressure of keeping the secret or because they are being bullied and they suffer in silence. For those of you in this current situation there is a project called the “It Gets Better Project” that I will link at the end of this post. Apart from that if you need anyone to talk to remember my contact page is at the top and feel free to use it!.

My conclusion is – We all hate being labelled! but how many times a day do we label someone without knowing we are doing so ?. Can we try to change this in our lives ? I think so. Keeping those thoughts to yourself and not acting on them will better you as a person and may help others to.

Here is the “It Gets Better” link. http://www.itgetsbetter.org/.

Share,Like & Comment 🙂

 

About Paul

ill rather keep my identy private for now :)

Posted on October 10, 2012, in confidence and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

