Don’t Stick Them In !

How many of you listen to music when walking to work or walking anywhere ? – I listen to music every time I  walk anywhere, apart from today. This morning before leaving the house I thought to myself “I’m not going to use my headphones”. To be honest I couldn’t remember the last time I had walked to work without having music blasting in my ears. I think most of us have gone into this bad habit of just “sticking” our headphones in our ears and zooming off wherever we need to go. So today I did different and I discovered something and it got me thinking and I felt bad for not having noticed this before.

Every morning when I walk to work ,I walk through this tunnel and there’s always this middle-aged man playing a harmonica with a little glass in front of him for tips. I never think much of it to be honest just a “beggar”. I never give him a second thought I’m always in a rush to get to work on time.I got to the tunnel and I saw this man as I do everyday playing his harmonica and he actually said bye to me!. At first I thought “Maybe he says it to some random stranger every now and again for some money”, well I walked by again to go home for lunch and again to return to work from lunch and on each occasion when he was there he kept saying bye to me. I was left speechless! This man probably greets me every morning and I just walk past and I ignore him due to the fact that I have been blasting music in my ears ignoring the world around me. So I ask you to try to walk somewhere without your headphones in your ears, listen to the noises that you may have not heard in a while. The result shocked me ,maybe it will to you too.

 

Goodnight Bloggers x

About Paul

ill rather keep my identy private for now :)

Posted on October 9, 2012, in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

