Friends Forever. . . But Is It True ?

Hey bloggers, So as some of you may know this blog is about my random thoughts,experiences etc and recently I have been thinking about the term “Friends Forever” and the validity of that saying. Are friends really forever ? I’m not quite sure anymore. One simple question . . Are you as close as you were with your bestest best friend from primary school ?. I know I’m not , in fact I’m not as close with my friends from comprehensive school.

The term Best Friend is a term which I never use. I despise it! Why call a friend (Or a number of friends) you’re best friend ?. Do you have worst friends ? If they’re in the worst category surely that means they are not a friend at all. Sure I have close friends in which I speak to on a daily basis and we swap our problems but I wouldn’t call her a best friend. Why should I label my friends into categories ? I just don’t like it but I think this is just a matter of opinion.

So what has brought this question to my mind ? I know most of us aren’t best friends with our primary school friends. LIFE , most people think of life and think “I want to get married and have a family” and rightly so they think that most us of do, don’t we ?. The teen years are the years where you mostly hang around your friends and go out etc until you find your boyfriend/girlfriend and that is where my question comes in. In the past as many of you, if not all have experienced have had friends who started getting in a relationship and you just see less and less of them as time goes by. Understandably if they love each other they wish to spend as much time together as possible and that’s where some friendships end. A Number of years ago I had this friend who got a girlfriend and he literally just vanished off the face of the world. They broke up every couple of months for just 3 or 4 days and during those days I had my friend back but it did get quite tiring. The constant fights and at the end of the day the friendship was one-sided. I was there for him but when I needed someone where was he ?. Anyway as time went on one night he asked me to go out for a drink (this time however they were NOT on a break) so I asked him,as I was already quite annoyed with him for basically forgetting about me apart when it suited him. Are you not out with your girlfriend tonight ? and his answer was just No,Why do you think I’m asking you ? …. Errm.. Sorry what ? That did it for me! I got so annoyed,obviously I didn’t go out that night nor was I there for him when they kept breaking up. Did I do the right thing ? Shouldn’t we be there for our friends no matter what ? ….But shouldn’t they think that question themselves ? I always say it takes 2!… As years have gone by more and more friends have obviously gotten in a routine with their partners and obviously have no time for there used to be “best friend”.

Recently my closest friend whom I speak to daily and go on holidays together, we basically get along like a married couple but in a friendship. Before you think to yourselves “Do you like her”? …NO! lol Well I do like her but as a sister,we are that close.Well this friend has recently started seeing someone and I’m just thinking the plans we had on going to travel here and there…Are they still going to happen? We literally were saying ” we are single and we make the most of it live life etc” however now that she’s seeing someone this all may change. Let me just add that I approved the guy she is seeing and I told her that he is literally the male version of her, so nice and innocent and to be honest she does deserve a nice guy like him to treat her well!. Now I’m in like a paralysed thought of Am I going to lose her ? , Are things going to change ? Am I being selfish for thinking this ? and this is why the whole term of “Friends Forever crossed my mind and made me question it.

Do we all not eventually move away from our friends and into relationships ? At a young age this is the goal for most people as it is what society imprints on us. So are friends really forever?  My answer is pure and simple. No. You may continue to chat here and there but things change,situations change and you won’t be as close as you once were and just because of that fact I also find it hard to trust my friends. Not only do I live in a small town where everyone knows everyone and everybody’s business but if friends move on can you still trust that you’re deepest secrets and thoughts will not be shared? I just think Hmm..Only person I can trust is myself really as the saying from the T.V series Pretty Little Liars goes ” Only 2 can keep a secret if 1 of them is dead” . Drastic but in my opinion true.

Well I would LOVE to hear your thoughts on this topic and maybe it will help me better myself. Please Like,Comment and Share :)

Have a nice day ;) XxX

About Paul

ill rather keep my identy private for now :)

Posted on April 25, 2013, in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

