Are We ALL Becoming Attention Seekers ? – My Thoughts !

Hey bloggers, I know it’s been a while and I have had this topic at the back of my mind for a couple of weeks now. 10 Years ago I suppose society was VERY different as to what it is today. Attention seekers worked harder to get their attention and noticed and fewer people wanted to be noticed. Do we realise that we are becoming attention seekers? I mean 10 years ago how would you grab someone’s attention without posting anything on any social network sites.

 

Are you an attention seeker? – I think we all are in one way or another. How many of you have Facebook or Twitter? Most if not all I’m sure and some of you will probably use other social networking sites like Tumbler etc. These social networking sites are designed in a way that makes us want to get noticed. On Facebook for example we “update our status” with the intentions for others to read it and later “Like” or Comment. Every day we post (Myself including) the little things everyone does in everyday life, things like the food we eat or what we drink on Facebook just so people will see and know what you’re doing. On Twitter I find people are more open (Myself Included) and people tend to share deeper thoughts even those that when posted on facebook may get a negative feedback.

 

Do we paint this pretty picture on Facebook? – I think most of us paint this mirage of ourselves on Facebook. We all want to be accepted by the majority of society so we post what we think will be “Liked” and accepted by others and with the hope that we will be, in return liked more by others and become that slightly more popular. I think we all post just what we want others to see obviously that is why we control it right? But don’t we all have darker thoughts? Not so nice thoughts that should be shared. After all Facebook does ask “What’s On Your Mind”, On many occasions I have posted an update saying “ Facebook keeps on asking me “What’s on my mind” but I’m scared if I post I will shock a lot of people!” Which I’m sure I will. At the end of the day we all seek acceptance by others and I think Social Networking sites like the ones I mentioned earlier play a bit part in it all. Maybe we don’t all realise it but I think it is getting worse. I am too a victim of this but a couple of weeks ago I was having a discussion with a friend who they claim they “don’t care what others think” So I pointed this out, we all use the edit features for the pictures, we all act as if we have this perfect life on facebook but behind that screen many of us have more insecurities than what we may know we have! Problem is, if we paint this picture too big how can we live up to it?

Hope I haven’t rumbles too much on this, Let me know your thoughts no matter how good or bad:) if you like please Like, Share & Comment!

 

Have a nice day :)

About Paul

ill rather keep my identy private for now :)

Posted on April 17, 2013, in confidence, happy, inspirational, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

