Its The Thought That No Longer Counts.

Hi bloggers so a mini blog post today called “It’s The Thought That Not Longer Counts”. What does that mean ? Let me explain what I mean by it.

In the past have you ever heard before your birthday or Christmas “It’s the thought that counts”?. Yes, I have plenty of times. Coming from a family that struggled to get by in the early years we learned to love every present we got. Be it a pair of socks to a new console game. We appreciated everything we got and had and never asked for expensive gifts as we knew that would just add the stress to my mother.Now that I work I obviously buy the presents for everyone and I found it very stressful because in today’s society the thought no longer counts. Materials count, I found an old Yo-Yo the other day clearing out my cupboards and I thought to myself “I wonder if kids nowadays will know what these are”. Buying gifts for little kids or friends my own age has proven to be a challenge,although finding the perfect gift for them maybe the value of the gift was just £10 so I found myself having to buy something else….Which then meant I had to buy something else for others as I couldn’t possibly give one gift to one person yet another receive two or more presents.

Some of you may know I had a minor operation ( I wrote about it in an earlier blog post) so my gift shopping was held up and I know find myself in a situation where I have bought some people more than others and I started to think ” Well who cares, They all have a gift and that is what matters right? Isn’t it the thought that counts”…. I found myself laughing to myself after thinking that because everyone now asks for iPhone’s,iPads and gifts which are worth more than £100. The thought no longer counts but the quantity and quality of gifts. I’m going to sound older than what I am ( and I’m only 21) but kids today do not appreciate things at all.

Try to restore this in your kids & If you already do so… You’re one of the rare good parents and instill good morals in your kids Xxx

About Paul

ill rather keep my identy private for now :)

Posted on December 23, 2012, in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

